The CRA convenes a select committee to nominate worthy candidates for our Citizens of the Year Award. The award goes to residents of Carmel-by-the-Sea or its sphere of influence who have, by word and deed, contributed significantly to the quality of life in our village. The prestigious award has been given out all told to 31 accomplished recipients. The winner is announced in odd-numbered years at the Citizen of the Year Celebration held in February or March.

Not eligible for nomination are CRA board members, elected public officials of Carmel-by-the-Sea and city staff. Nominations for Citizen of the Year may be sent to: CRA, P.O. Box 13, Carmel, CA 93921.

Past winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Clayton Anderson
Linda Anderson
Noel Van Bibber
Melanie Bilig
Jack Bilwiller
Steve Brooks
Mike Brown
Olaf Dahlstrand
Greg D’Ambrosio
Bill Doolittle
Nancy Doolittle
Richard Flower
John Hicks
J.S. “Jim” Holliday
Wayne Kelley
Robert Kohn
Frankie Laney
Barbara Livingston
Skip Lloyd
Noel Mapstead
Monte Miller
Roberta Miller
Enid Sales
Joyce Stevens
Merv Sutton
Roy Thomas
Alex Vardamis
Fran Vardamis
Jean White
Ken White
Jim Wright