Should Our Village become a Charter City?

Carmel-by-the-Sea is a General Law Municipality in the State of California.  There are pros & cons to becoming a Charter City that can increase Local Control.  

A recent (April 2024) court case tied to Housing Legislation SB9 is applicable only to Charter Cities.  See our CRA Local Control page for more background. 

To learn more about becoming a Charter City - consider these sources

What does it take to become a Charter City?

To become a charter city, a city must adopt a charter.
There are two ways to adopt a charter:
  1. The city’s voters elect a charter commission. The commission has the responsibility of drafting and debating the charter.
  2. The governing board of the city, on its own motion, drafts the charter.
In either case, the charter is not adopted by the city until it is ratified by a majority ballot vote of the city's voters.
Your suggestions are welcome.   Reply to [email protected]

  • As of January 21, 2020, 125 of California's 478 cities are charter cities.   HERE is an earlier listing showing 121 Charter Cities - published by 
  • City Charters, in those cities where citizens have elected to have charters, determine how a city is organized and, in some circumstances, give cities certain home rule prerogatives even in the face of conflicting state statutes.
  • A county can be a Charter County as well.  14 of our 58 counties that are Charter Counties. As of 4/2024 they incllude: Counties with charters include Alameda, Butte, El Dorado, Fresno, Los Angeles, Orange, Placer, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and Tehama.